The Data Model/Relationships page allows you to manage relationships for tables, views and stored procedures. This page sits within the Settings area which is usually only accessible to Administrators.


List relationships


Click Settings, then Data Setup then Data Model in the left menu.


Select Relationships in the Middle Panel. 


Relationships of all visible data sources will be displayed.


By default, only the first page with 10 items are displayed. To see more, either use the next page icon or select a larger number in Items per page box.


Search for relationships

The Search box at the top allows user to search for specific relationships.


Select a specific element to search for in the dropdown on the left of the Search box. Default is All.


Type a partial name and click the search icon.

Only the matching relationships will be displayed.


Add relationship


Click the Add Relationship button at the top.


A new empty row will appear at the first line.

Select the elements of the relationship from dropdown boxes.


User must select DatabaseName, then Data Object, then Join Field in that order for the dropdown boxes to populate conveniently. The Database name is your own database.


User can input the positionID to define the priority of each relationship when querying data - this is optional. 


Continue to add more relationships.


Click the Save button at the top.


Relationships that already exists or have errors will be highlighted and not saved. 



Note

Only single-column relationships are supported in Data Model. Multiple-column relationships are supported in Report Designer.


Copy relationship

The copy feature help users to save efforts in adding and editing relationships.


  • Click the Copy icon of each relationship to copy its details to a new line beneath.
  • Edit the new line to make a new relationship.
  • Continue for more relationships.
  • Click the Save button at the top.

Edit relationship

Users can freely edit any relationship in a page and save them.


Delete relationship

Users can only delete relationships newly created in Data Model. Relationships originally created from physical database cannot be deleted, their delete icon will be disabled.


  • Click the Delete icon (x) of each relationship.
  • Click OK in the confirmation pop-up.
  • The relationship is deleted.